140. Dear Song-I, what the eff are you doing with your life?!?

October 23, 2011 § 6 Comments

Okay, so. I’ve moved into my new apartment a couple days ago and it is very empty and lonely.  I have a lot of cupboards but nothing to put inside.  Rooms but no furniture.  No internet (I currently live at the local Whole Foods for internet).  And now…no money.  COOL.  But my currently empty life is not what this post is about (and PS, don’t worry too much, my life is not that empty.  I’m just being dramatic.  I have electricity, heat, plenty of frozen dinners, and I recently purchased a fork).

Oh, but before I get to my actual post, here is a picture of my current living situation:

My current dining table. Oh the joys of being young, fabulous, and resourceful.  Upside-down cardboard moving box covered with an old sweater as a tablecloth.  I be keepin’ it real & classy.

Bed.

I don’t have much but I have plenty of (sparkling) water!

…and snacks!  And of course, friendly company in the form of Pokemon and Beanie Babies.

Anyways.  Onto what my post is really about.  I’ve been getting a lot of questions from you people and apparently my vagueness doesn’t help to get all up-and-personal.  But people, please understand that sometimes my vagueness isn’t an attempt to be mysterious and keep you at a distance – sometimes, I’m vague because I have no idea what is going on either.  

One particular question I’ve been getting asked often these days is something along the lines of Song-I, what the eff are you doing with your life?!?

Okay, no one’s actually been that sassy with me – you guys are actually very polite and respectful.  The questions are more along the lines of, Song-I, what company will you work for?  What will you be doing there?  What is your job title?  I just like adding profanity sometimes because it makes me seem EDGY and gets the main point across.

According to Google Images, this is what you need to be edgy.  Upon reconsideration, I don’t think I can pull it off.

* * * * *

Let’s do this one at a time.

1.  Song-I, what company will you work for?

Come next week, I will be a full-time Zappos.com employee.  Zappos.com is an online retailer whose competitive edge is their exceptional customer service and mission to deliver happiness.  The CEO, Tony Hsieh, is one of those young online genius entrepreneurs and his business philosophy is what drew me to the company.  His stance on business practices and company culture is quite in line with my personal ideology.  You can read more about his story and company in his book Delivering Happiness (no, I’m not getting paid to advertise or whatnot.  These are my personal opinions and I am in no way shape or form accepting a bribe).

2. What will you be doing there?  

It seems that I will be doing a variety of tasks.

One of my foremost tasks will be website design maintenance and updates using an online platform called Drupal (think of Drupal as an upgraded version of WordPress, which is what you’re using to read this blog).  I’ll also be contributing to the website’s style guide to ensure that Zappos.com has a cohesive aesthetic across the board as the company continues to expand into new ventures.  [For those of you who are interested, key words and concepts that I’ll be working with include Usability, User Experience, Interface Design, and some Information Architecture.]

Other tasks will include (1) being a translator between the hardcore techies (software developers) and the hardcore fashionistas (merchandisers) while keeping the needs of the bottom line in the back of my mind, (2) assist management with stuff (aka coffee fetcher?), (3) other stuff, (4) more stuff, and, most importantly, (5) be an enthusiastic and passionate and hardworking and all-around awesome person to work with.  That last one will probably prove to be the most difficult because sometimes I like to ignore people lol.

3.  What is your job title?

I forgot.

-.-;;

…Seriously.

-.-;;;;

…Don’t tell my boss.  -.-;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

It’s because they recently changed it!!!  -.-;;   …and when I was talking to my future leader-person I was really nervous and scatterbrained so I didn’t hear it clearly and then the moment passed for me to ask him what it was again because I didn’t want to appear stupid.  Soooo…now I don’t know what my new job title is and as a result look stupid to all of you guys.  But that’s okay because you guys aren’t my bosses so I don’t have to impress you or something mwahahahahahaha.

…But seriously though, (1) I care a lot about your opinions and input so I hope you don’t think I’m stupid and (2) the original position I applied for was titled ‘Site Experience Coordinator‘ and now it is…something along those lines.  I think the word “merchandiser” was in there somewhere.  Email me in a week if you have a giant itch-in-the-pants-need to know.

* * * * *

So, nosy people, I hope your curiosity has been satiated.  Wish me luck and keep me in your prayers – sometimes I act obnoxious and that’s usually when I’m feeling the most insecure so I appreciate your time and interest :)

Jia you!!  (to my non-Chinese/Taiwanese friends, that literally translates ‘get gas!’ but indicates a sense of the American-English ‘You can do it!’/the military ‘Hoorah!’/the Korean ‘hwaiting!’/etc)

…omg.  I just re-read my post and realized I am lame because I basically just interviewed myself puhahahahaah.

Goodbye friends!  Enjoy your week, smile lots, and breathe more :)

.

§ 6 Responses to 140. Dear Song-I, what the eff are you doing with your life?!?

  • Julie says:

    Lol dude at least you fashioned yourself a table. With a tablecloth. If I was in your situation, I would be eating on the floor. Can I come decorate?? I have a SuperJunior calendar that Bill doesn’t want for some reason. These pictures will go well with Charmander

    • songi says:

      lawlz I’m accumulating an odd mix of calendars — my LA friends gave me a kitty+puppy one as a goodbye present which I’m not quite sure where to put…a Super Junior one will be an even bigger challenge. puhahahaha miss you lady!!

  • brian says:

    in a few weeks, you’ll have a paycheck! what will you be eating between now and then? surely not only frozen dinners…

    • songi says:

      lol hi there Brian!

      Frozen dinners have definitely been a part of my meal plan these days. I also throw whatever food I have in the fridge into a giant mixing bowl, add Korean hot sauce, and eat. When I feel the need to indulge I go to the Whole Foods food bar. Nom. I’m also seeing Edith for lunch next week so that will be exciting.

      Hope all is well with you!

      -S

  • Hello! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this page to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  • My brother suggested I would possibly like this blog.

    He was once totally right. This publish actually made my day.
    You cann’t consider just how much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 140. Dear Song-I, what the eff are you doing with your life?!? at someday i'll find a job..

meta

